This excellent research demonstrates that the hoo-hah about Mid-Staffs Hospital Trust is mainly right-wing propaganda

The SKWAWKBOX

What I’m about to write is likely to make me very unpopular with some people. While I’d prefer to avoid that, the issues and the truth about them are too important not to write it. I have no axe to grind, no personal connection to the events or people (that I know of) – but I am passionate about the NHS and about truth.

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a couple of articles about the Mid Staffs NHS (MSNHS) report by Robert Francis, and about David Cameron’s reaction to it. These articles focused on the political implications of the events and the report, and on setting the reported death figures in context, rather than on the veracity of the figures themselves and the story behind them. Although I touched on the fact that the wide range of the figures given – 400-1200 – showed how uncertain they were…

View original post 6,593 more words

